top of page

Journey of finding a good skill

Updated: Jun 22, 2021



When I started my BS(Hons) in software engineering, I was curious to know which skill would be perfect for me. So, I started searching for different skills like android app development, python web scraping, web development, SEO, etc. I talked to my seniors who were working on a different platform as freelancers and found out that they worked on those skills in which they had interests and felt good.

I found out that I was interested in writing scripts using programming languages. So, after coming to know this I just understood that I had to choose a skill in which I had to write scripts or design programs. Therefore, I chose web scraping and start learning from the toe. I started learning from basics by scraping a simple static website using beautiful soap which was (indeed.com) but I was not satisfied and talked to a senior about this. He told me about (scopelist.com and impactguns.com). I scraped both of them using Beautiful Soup (python library) then I created my profile on Upwork [Click the button to open the profile]

Within a span of a week, I got 3 orders in a row that were different from what I had learned but I didn't lose hope. I started working on it by watching some YouTube videos and I got some guidance from my senior who was an expert in web scraping. I completed them, meeting the deadline. I got 5-star reviews. But I didn't felt achieved yet I started learning about web scraping deeply. Now I am learning the python framework which is Scrapy.



26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page